[Bioeng_local] FW: WFMB seminar Dr Jarol Chen, Friday, September 9, 3.20pm Oxidative Damage Batten disease and Neuroinflammation

Peter Hilton peter.hilton at otago.ac.nz
Mon Sep 5 11:44:56 NZST 2016


FYI, please see below.

Peter

From: Palmer, David [mailto:David.Palmer at lincoln.ac.nz]
Sent: Monday, 5 September 2016 11:30 a.m.
To: Anna Pilbrow <anna.pilbrow at otago.ac.nz>; Hannah Kennedy <Hannah.Kennedy at cdhb.health.nz>; Peter Hilton <peter.hilton at otago.ac.nz>; AGLS ALL FACULTY STAFF <AGLS_Division at lincoln.ac.nz>; AGLS All Visitors <AGLSAllVisitors at lincoln.ac.nz>; AGLS Postgrads <AGLS_Postgrads at lincoln.ac.nz>; alex.howie at foodinnovationnetwork.co.nz; Alexova, Veronika <Veronika.Alexova at lincoln.ac.nz>; Cook, Peter <Peter.Cook at lincoln.ac.nz>; Fei Wang <fei.wang at anzcofoods.co.nz>; Hopkins, Elizabeth <Elizabeth.Hopkins at lincoln.ac.nz>; jan.hales at foodinnovationnetwork.co.nz; jane.petrie at foodinnovationnetwork.co.nz; john.morgan at foodinnovationnetwork.co.nz; Jonathan Cox <jonathan.cox at anzcofoods.co.nz>; Jou Cheng <jou.cheng at anzcofoods.co.nz>; mike.foster at foodinnovationnetwork.co.nz; Munir, Kiran <Kiran.Munir at lincoln.ac.nz>; Paulette Elliott <paulette.elliott at anzcofoods.com>; Philip Wescombe <Philip.wescombe at oceaniadairy.co.nz>; Xinchen Cai <tpis.kiwi at gmail.com>
Subject: WFMB seminar Dr Jarol Chen, Friday, September 9, 3.20pm Oxidative Damage Batten disease and Neuroinflammation


This week's WFMB seminar (Friday, September 9, 3.20pm Field Research Centre Seminar Room) presenter will be Dr Jarol Chen, who will tell us about her Ph D studies:

"Oxidative Damage Batten disease and Neuroinflammation:  The non-role for oxidative stress in ovine Batten disease and a molecular dissection of the neuroinflammatory pathway."

Oxidative damage, mediated by the activating enzyme MnSOD (manganese dependent superoxide dismutase) has long been regard as central to pathogenesis in many neurodegenerative diseases, including Batten disease.  Jarol's studies show that this is not so.  Instead neuroinflammation is central, and is a complex process involving many factors.

Professor David Palmer
RFH 10, WFMB
Faculty of Agriculture and Life Sciences
PO Box 85084
Lincoln University
Lincoln 7647
New Zealand

Phone +64-3-423-0615 (DD)
email : David.Palmer at lincoln.ac.nz<mailto:David.Palmer at lincoln.ac.nz>

[cid:5A906F4C-6E6F-4830-9AB1-67201DE7CAD4]
Batten Animal Research Network


________________________________
P Please consider the environment before you print this email.
"The contents of this e-mail (including any attachments) may be confidential and/or subject to copyright. Any unauthorised use, distribution, or copying of the contents is expressly prohibited. If you have received this e-mail in error, please advise the sender by return e-mail or telephone and then delete this e-mail together with all attachments from your system."
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.canterbury.ac.nz/pipermail/bioeng_local/attachments/20160904/1f63ab4e/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image002.jpg
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 2977 bytes
Desc: image002.jpg
URL: <http://lists.canterbury.ac.nz/pipermail/bioeng_local/attachments/20160904/1f63ab4e/attachment.jpg>


More information about the Bioeng_local mailing list